Skip to content
Counselors Banner - California Community College Transfer Guarantee to Historically Black Colleges & Universities

HBCU Transfer Information for Counselors

The Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) Transfer Program was developed to offer a smooth and seamless student pathway from California Community Colleges to partnered HBCUs.  Students, by preparing to transfer to the University of California or the California State University systems may also be eligible for admissions to targeted HBCUs. 

By completing the Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum requirements (known as IGETC and accepted at both the University of California and the California State University) or the California State University General Education Breadth pattern (known as CSU GE) and obtaining a transfer-level associate degree (60 units) with a 2.5 or higher grade point average, students are guaranteed admission with junior standing to participating HBCUs.

Students may also opt to transfer with 30 or more University of California or California State University transferable units and a 2.5 or higher grade point average.  Units will be accepted for general education, pre major or elective units.

HBCUs are typically much smaller in student size than most California public institutions. The majority of classes are taught by professors rather than teaching assistants, in a nurturing and supportive environment. And, at HBCUs there may be more opportunities for student leadership development.

All of the HBCUs that have partnered with California Community Colleges are private except one. The tuition costs for private HBCUs are typically a fraction of of the costs of private institutions in California.

 The one state university partner, Lincoln University in Missouri, will offer in state tuition for California Community College students.

Learn more about the agreements
Learn more about the participating colleges and universities
Learn more about the Common Black College Application

Primary contacts for each HBCU:

HBCU Counselor Email Phone
Bennett College Jocelyn Biggs jbiggs@bennett.edu 336-517-1818
Bethune-Cookman University Ronda Bostick
Karen Compton
bostickr@cookman.edu
comptonk@cookman.edu
386-481-2647
386-562-4224
Clark Atlanta University Michelle Rhodes
Faye Green
tss@cau.edu
tss@cau.edu
404-880-6899
404-880-6913
Central State University Stephanie Williams swilliams3@centralstate.edu 937-376-6121
Dillard University Michelle Keelen mkeelen@dillard.edu 504-816-4390
Edward-Waters College Ricky Glover Ricky.glover@ewc.edu 904-470-8205
Fisk University Jason Harrison jharrison@fisk.edu 615-329-8818
Florida Memorial University Tikiya Henry Tikiya.henry@fmuniv.edu 305-626-3144
Grambling State University Patrica Jenkins
Latari Fleming
jenkinsp@gram.edu
flemingl@gram.edu
318-274-3242
318-274-6100
Huston-Tillotson University Rosnay Liendo rjliendo@htu.edu 512-505-3029
Kentucky State University Luv’Tesha Robertson Luvtesha.robertson@kysu.edu 502-597-6037
Lane College Monica Clayborne mclayborne@lanecollege.edu 731-426-7533
Lincoln University of Missouri Amanda Woods woodsa@lincolnu.edu 573-681-5017
Lincoln University of Pennsylvania Mario Bowler mbowler@lincoln.edu 484-365-7207
Philander Smith College Maurice Osborne mosborne@philander.edu 501-370-5211
Stillman College Joe Tinsley
Shambria Davis
jtinsley@stillman.edu
sdavis@stillman.edu
205-247-8885
706-590-1013
Talladega College Sherissa Gaitor skgaitor@talladega.edu 256-493-7914
Tougaloo College James Louis jlouis@tougaloo.edu 601-977-6180
Tuskegee College Jamie Mardis jmardis@mytu.tuskegee.edu 334-727-8347
West Virginia State University Anthony Parrish admissions@wvstate.edu 304-204-4345
Wiley College Jamecia Murray
Loren Johnson
jlmurray@wileyc.edu
LoJohnson@wileyc.edu
903-927-3222
706-590-1013