Skip to content
Counselors Banner - California Community College Transfer Guarantee to Historically Black Colleges & Universities

HBCU Transfer Information for Counselors

The Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) Transfer Program was developed to offer a smooth and seamless student pathway from California Community Colleges to partnered HBCUs.  Students, by preparing to transfer to the University of California or the California State University systems may also be eligible for admissions to targeted HBCUs. 

By completing the Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum requirements (known as IGETC and accepted at both the University of California and the California State University) or the California State University General Education Breadth pattern (known as CSU GE) and obtaining a transfer-level associate degree (60 units) with a 2.5 or higher grade point average, students are guaranteed admission with junior standing to participating HBCUs.

Students may also opt to transfer with 30 or more University of California or California State University transferable units and a 2.5 or higher grade point average.  Units will be accepted for general education, pre major or elective units.

HBCUs are typically much smaller in student size than most California public institutions. The majority of classes are taught by professors rather than teaching assistants, in a nurturing and supportive environment. And, at HBCUs there may be more opportunities for student leadership development.

All of the HBCUs that have partnered with California Community Colleges are private except one. The tuition costs for private HBCUs are typically a fraction of of the costs of private institutions in California.

 The one state university partner, Lincoln University in Missouri, will offer in state tuition for California Community College students.

Learn more about the agreements
Learn more about the participating colleges and universities
Learn more about the Common Black College Application

INSITUTION Contact Person Email Address Phone Numbers
Alabama State University Dr. Courtney Griffin cgriffin@alasu.edu 334-229-4302
Alcorn State University John Igwebuike jigwe@alcorn.edu 601-877-6140
Arkansas Baptist College Willie Hicks williw.hicks@arkandsasbaptist.edu 501-420-1234
Bennett College Jocelyn Biggs jbiggs@bennett.edu 336-517-1818
Bethune-Cookman University Karen Compton comptonk@cookman.edu 386-562-4224
Bowie State University Deon Harrod dharrod@nowiestate.edu 301-860-3425
Central State University Stephen Williams swilliams3@centralstate.edu 937-376-6121
Claflin University Mark Wright maroberts@clafin.edu 803-535-5573
Clark Atlanta University Michelle Rhodes
Faye Green
tss@cau.edu 404-880-6899
404-880-6913
Dillard University Michelle Keelen mkeelen@dillard.edu 504-816-4390
Edward-Waters College Ricky Glover Ricky.glover@ewc.edu 904-470-8205
Fisk University Jason Harrison jharrison@fisk.edu 615-329-8818
Florida Memorial University Tikiya Henry Tikiya.henry@fmuniv.edu 305-626-3144
Fort Valley State University Calandra Wright wrightc@fvsu.edu 478-825-6227
Grambling State University DeVaria Hudson hudsond@gram.edu 318-274-3242
Hariss-Stowe State University Miguel De Araujo dearaujm@hasu.edu 314-340-5973
Huston-Tillotson University Jeffrey Pierce jepierce@htu.edu 512--505-3003
Kentucky State University Luv’Tesha Robertson Luvtesha.robertson@kysu.edu 502-597-6037
Lane College Derrick Mays dmays@lanecollege.edu 731-426-7533
Lincoln University of Missouri Amanda Woods woodsa@lincolnu.edu 573-681-5017
Lincoln University of Pennsylvania Kenyatta Austin kaustin@lincoln.edu 484-365-7207
Mississippi Valley State University Jaquelyn Williams
Michael Taylor, Sr.
jawill@mvsu.edu
michealc.taylor@mvsu.edu
662-254-3345
662-254-3127
North Carolina Central University Denettia Shaw dshaw9@NCCU.EDU 919-530-6687
Philander Smith College Maurice Osborne mosborne@philander.edu 501-370-5211
Shaw University Anthony Brooks anthony.brooks@shawu.edu 919-719-1983
Southern University Raymond Clarke
Dianna Gilbert
raymond_Clarke@subr.edu
dianna_gilbert@subr.edu
225-771-6276
225-771-4041
Stillman College Brittany Hoskin bhoskin@stillman.edu 205-366-8885
Talladega College Sherissa Gaitor skgaitor@talladega.edu 256-493-7914
Tennessee State University Dr. Alisa L. Mosley amosley@tnstate.edu 615-963-2923
Texas Southern University Jacqueline Rideau
Brian Armstrong
rideaujy@tsu.edu
armstrong_bj@tsu.edu
713-313-7754
713-313-6861
Tougaloo College James Louis jlouis@tougaloo.edu 601-977-6180
Tuskegee College Jamie Mardis jmardis@mytu.tuskegee.edu 334-727-8347
Virginia State University William Travis
Rodney Hall
wtravis@vsu.edu
rhall@vsu.edu
804-524-5774
804-524-2954
West Virginia State University Akeem Scott akeem.scott@wvstateu.edu 304-204-4347
Wiley College Jamecia Murray jlmurray@wileyc.edu
903-927-3222