Skip to content
Counselors Banner - California Community College Transfer Guarantee to Historically Black Colleges & Universities

HBCU Transfer Information for Counselors

The Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) Transfer Program was developed to offer a smooth and seamless student pathway from California Community Colleges to partnered HBCUs.  Students, by preparing to transfer to the University of California or the California State University systems may also be eligible for admissions to targeted HBCUs. 

By completing the Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum requirements (known as IGETC and accepted at both the University of California and the California State University) or the California State University General Education Breadth pattern (known as CSU GE) and obtaining a transfer-level associate degree (60 units) with a 2.5 or higher grade point average, students are guaranteed admission with junior standing to participating HBCUs.

Students may also opt to transfer with 30 or more University of California or California State University transferable units and a 2.5 or higher grade point average.  Units will be accepted for general education, pre major or elective units.

HBCUs are typically much smaller in student size than most California public institutions. The majority of classes are taught by professors rather than teaching assistants, in a nurturing and supportive environment. And, at HBCUs there may be more opportunities for student leadership development.

All of the HBCUs that have partnered with California Community Colleges are private except one. The tuition costs for private HBCUs are typically a fraction of of the costs of private institutions in California.

 The one state university partner, Lincoln University in Missouri, will offer in state tuition for California Community College students.

Of the 37 HBUs that have partner with California Community College more than half are private institutions. The tuition cost for private HBCUS are typically a fraction of the cost of private institutions in California.

Seven of the sixteen partner schools that are public or state-supported institutions will offer in-state tuition to California Community College transfer students.

Learn more about the agreements
Learn more about the participating colleges and universities
Learn more about the Common Black College Application

Institution Contact Person Email Address Phone #
Alabama State University Sunkeissa Cantrell scantrell@alasu.edu 334-329-4912
Alcorn State University John Igwebuike
Katangelia Tenner
jigwe@alcorn.edu
ksampson@alcorn.edu
601-877-6140
601-877-6148
Arkansas Baptist College Dr. Carlos Clark carlos.clark@arkansasbaptist.edu 501-420-1217
Benedict College Keisha Montgomery Keisha.Montgomery@benedict.edu 803-705-4910
Bennett College James Crawford jcrawford@bennett.edu 336-517-1818
Bethune-Cookman University Shantell Thompson culmers@cookman.edu 386-481-2581
Bowie State University Shelandreia Williams sjwilliams@bowiestate.edu 301-860-3416
Central State University Camille Johnson cjohnson@centralstate.edu 937-376-6575
Claflin University Mark A. Roberts maroberts@claflin.edu 803-535-5573
Clark Atlanta University Faye Green tss@cau.edu 404-880-6913
Dillard University Monica White mwhite@dillard.edu 504-283-8822
Edward-Waters College Ricky Glover Ricky.glover@ewc.edu 904-470-8205
Fisk University Danisha Williams dwilliams@fisk.edu 615-329-8503
Florida Memorial University Maurice Vaughen Maurice.vaughen@fmuniv.edu 305-626-3796
Fort Valley State University Calandra Wright wrightc@fvsu.edu 478-825-6227
Grambling State University D'Andrea Brown Brownda@gram.edu 318-274-2432
Hariss-Stowe State University Daremoni Jones johnsda@hasu.edu 314-446-8991
Huston-Tillotson University Jeffrey Pierce jepierce@htu.edu 512--505-3003
Kentucky State University Stephen Williams Stephen.williams@kysu.edu 502-597-6322
Lane College Derrick Mays dmays@lanecollege.edu 731-426-7533
Lincoln University of Missouri Amanda Woods woodsa@lincolnu.edu 573-681-5017
Lincoln University of Pennsylvania Mario Bowler mbowler@lincoln.edu 484-365-7207
Mississippi Valley State University Jaquelyn Williams
Michael Taylor, Sr.
jawill@mvsu.edu
michealc.taylor@mvsu.edu
662-254-3345
662-254-3127
North Carolina Central University Denettia Shaw dshaw9@NCCU.EDU 919-530-6687
Philander Smith College Maurice Osborne mosborne@philander.edu 501-370-5211
Shaw University Anthony Brooks anthony.brooks@shawu.edu 919-719-1983
Southern University Robert Rene robert_rene@subr.edu@subr.edu 225-771-7827
Stillman College Tamara Marshall tmarshall@stillman.edu 205-247-8007
Talladega College John Bell
Lon Weind
jwbell@talladega.edu
lweind@talladega.edu
256-761-6318
256-761-6235
Tennessee State University Dr. Alisa L. Mosley amosley@tnstate.edu 615-963-2923
Texas Southern University Brian Armstrong armstrong_bj@tsu.edu 713-313-6861
Tougaloo College Joel Swan jswan@tougaloo.edu 601-977-7772
Tuskegee College Thelma Vines tvines@tuskegee.edu 334-727-8289
Virginia State University Rodney Hall
Will Travis
rhall@vsu.edu
wtravis@vsu.edu
804-524-2954
804-524-5774
West Virginia State University Jameelah Means jmeans9@wvstateu.edu 304-766-5182
Wiley College Quinten Bates qbates2@wileyc.edu
903-927-3227
Xavier University of La Carlos Gooden cgooden2@xula.edu  504-520-7388